2008 IWA North American

Membrane Research Conference

Amherst, Massachusetts, August 10-13, 2008

| Home | Location | Organizing Committee | Program | Schedule | Abstract Submission |

|Registration | Student Poster Competition |

Download full program

List of oral presentations by session:

1)        Advances in Membrane Materials and Modeling: Todd Emrick, David Ford and Benny Freeman

a)      David Ford (University of Massachusetts): Molecular modeling of transport in synthetic membranes: applications in gas-and   liquid-phase separations

b)        Seda Keskin and David Sholl (Carnegie Mellon University): Accelerating development of crystalline nanoporous membranes   using atomically-detailed simulations

c)    James Kilduff (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute): Preparation of membranes to control NOM fouling via high throughput uv     graft polymerization

d)   Volodymyr V. Tarabara (Michigan State University): Facile control of colloidal fouling in polyelectrolyte multilayer based nanofiltration systems

e)    Douglas L. Gin (University of Colorado, Boulder): Polymers with ¾ 1 nm pore sizes for water nanofiltration and desalination   based on the polymerization of surfactant liquid crystals


2)        Wastewater Treatment and Reuse: Yoshimasa Watanabe and Slav Hermanowicz

a)         T. David Waite (University of New South Wales) and Xiaomao Wang: Fouling characterisation and control in submerged membrane bioreactors

b)      Z. Huang (Natinal University of Singapore): The effect of HRT and SRT on performance of submerged anaerobic membrane bioreactor (SAMBR) for low-strength wastewater treatment

c)    Nancy Oram Vigneault (CDM): The design, operation and performance of the new membrane bioreactor (MBR) WWTP for the Becket-Chimney Corners YMCA

d)    Tim Constantine (CH2M HILL Canada Limited): Pilot test results for 500 MLD tertiary nitrification MBR in Hamilton, Ontario

e)    Slav Hermanowcz (University of California, Berkeley): Dynamic aspects of cake formation in membrane filtration

f)     Faisal Ibney Hai (The University of Tokyo): Long-term performance of a membrane bioreactor (MBR) with a GAC-packed anaerobic zone for textile wastewater treatment

g)    Chi-Wang Li (TamKang University): Integration of ceramic membrane and compressed air-assisted solvent extraction (CAXE) for Cr(VI) recovery

h)    Lademir Luiz Beal (University of Caxias do Sul): Anaerobic filter associated with microfiltration membrane (MAF) treating sanitary landfill leachate

i)     Baikun Li (University of Connecticut): The production of hydrogen and electricity as new energy in anaerobic wastewater

      treatment processes

3)        Desalination   Menachem Elimelech and  Volodymyr V. Tarabara

a)       Menachem Elimelech (Yale University): The ammonia-carbon dioxide forward osmosis desalination process: Laboratory and pilot-scale evaluation.

b)       Lianfa Song (Texas Tech University): Performance and energy efficiency of full-scale reverse osmosis desalination

c)    Richard L. Stover (Energy Recovery, Inc.,): Energy recovery devices in desalination applications

d)    Robert P. Huehmer (CH2M HILL): Characterization of pretreatment impacts on SWRO fouling using advanced membrane autopsy techniques

e)    Arup K. SenGupta (Lehigh University): Hybrid ion exchange - nanofiltration (HIX-NF) process for energy efficient desalination of seawater

4)   Drinking Water Treatment: John Tobiason, Doug Owen and Isabel Escobar

      a)   Francis A. DiGiano (University of North Carolina): In pursuit of innovative membrane technology

      b)   H. Huang (Johns Hopkins University): Technological sustainabalility of small-scale, low pressure membrane filtration   systems for drinking water supply in low-income countries

       c)   Jonathan Clement (Black and Veatch): Developments in ceramic membranes

      d)   Y. Matsui (Hokkaido University): Combination of ceramic membrane and S-PAC to improve dissolved compound      removal and filterability

      e)   Isabel Escobar (University of Toledo): Development of nanostructured smart membrane sensors for Mycobacteria

      f)    Kevin Alexander (Separation Processes Inc.): Advances in concentrate minimization and disposal 

5)        Gas Transfer Applications: Mike Semmens and Pierre Cote

a)        Thomas Buer (GE/Zenon) and Youngseck Hong: High efficiency oxygen transfer membrane supported biofilm reactor for wastewater treatment

b)      Eoin Casey (University College Dublin), Eoin Syron, Michael J. Semmens: Comparative economic analysis of full scale MABR configurations

c)       Robert Nerenberg (Notre Dame) and Leon S. Downing: A hybrid membrane-biofilm process for concurrent nitrification and denitrification: bench and pilot-scale studies

d)        Michael Semmens (University of Minnesota): Gas transfer with membranes - the problems and potential: An overview

e)       Barth Smets (Technical University of Denmark), Akihiko Terada and Susanne Lackner: Redox stratification controlled biofilm reactors for completely autotrophic nitrogen removal

6)        Fouling Mechanisms and Control: Chung-Hak Lee, Hongde Zhou and Germán Buitrón

a)        Hongde Zhoua (University of Guelph), Jeff Peeters and Fengshen Fan (GE/Zenon): Measurement and control of membrane fouling in MBR systems for wastewater treatment

b)        Nazim Cicek (University of Manitoba): Strategies for Biofilm Thickness Control and Performance in Membrane Biofilm Reactors (MBfR)

c)    C.C.V. Chan (University of British Columbia): Response and control of surface foulants to oscillating shear events induced by air sparging

d)   Kyung-Min Yeon (Seoul National University): Quorum sensing in a membrane bioreactor for wasterwater treatment and reuse: From molecular level to engineering system


Directions to Campus | The Campus Center Hotel | Amherst Visitors Guide

IWAHQ.jpg (6844 bytes)

   umassrlalogo.jpg (42418 bytes)



         AWWALogo.jpg (3793 bytes)

                           newea.jpg (7304 bytes)


                     koch.jpg (188161 bytes)

                      malcompirnielogo.jpg (37591 bytes) 

           ch2mhill.JPG (34814 bytes)

                     Siemens_Logo.jpg (156952 bytes)

                  HS_logo.jpg (35895 bytes)